Coconut Nutella Fudge Cups

I just had to share this little experiment!

I came across this recipe just now for “Quick and Easy Nut Butter Freezer Fudge” shared by Delicious Obsessions. I had to check it out, and lo and behold it only used four ingredients, all of which I had on hand: nut butter, coconut oil, honey, and vanilla extract!

In fact, I had just made a batch of homemade hazelnut butter the other day, with the intention of possibly turning it into nutella…

20140625_184045 20140625_184104

(for the record, all you have to do to make nut butter is blend nuts in a food processor for a long time)

Anyway, I decided to go ahead and make this “fudge”, which was just 1/4 c. each of nut butter, honey, and coconut oil, with a splash of vanilla, warmed up and mixed together in a small sauce pan…

I tasted a dab to see how it was, and honestly it was a bit sweet for my taste, so I added a couple more spoonfuls of the hazelnut butter and a little more coconut oil.

THEN I thought, “You know what would make this even better? CHOCOLATE!”

and coconut!

So, I stirred in a couple generous spoonfuls of cocoa powder. Yum!

20140702_234416

The original recipe suggested spreading the mixture into an 8×8 pan, but I really like having little resse’s-like cups, so I scooped my mixture into silicone muffin cups and sprinkled them with shredded coconut.

20140702_234448

When I ran out of muffin cups, I sprinkled a square tupperware container with more shredded coconut and spread the rest of the mixture on top of that.

20140702_234430I plan on popping this out of the container once it is all hardened, then cutting it into bite-sized squares.

When you make things like this with coconut oil, you have to let them cool in the fridge or freezer first to harden up.

If the finished product is as good as the melty version that I licked off my spoon, we are in for a happy time! 🙂

Here’s my recipe, adapted from Raia’s Recipes, shared by Delicious Obsessions

Coconut Nutella Fudge Cups

  • 1/3 cup homemade hazelnut butter
  • 1/4 c. + 1 Tbsp coconut oil (5 Tbsp total)
  • 1/4 c. raw honey
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2-3 Tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • shredded unsweetened coconut

In a small sauce pan, over very low heat, melt and mix together all the wet ingredients. Mix in the cocoa powder. Scoop tablespoons of the mixture into muffin cups, or spread into a parchment-lined pyrex dish (or, in my case, a coconut-lined tupperware). Chill in the fridge of freezer until hardened, and store in the fridge to keep solid.

Enjoy!

Do you have a favorite easy, healthy, homemade dessert? Please share in the comments!

 

 

Leave a Reply

