Easy Homemade Coconut Milk AND a Giveaway!

I love coconut milk…

…and free things.

If you love free things, read on, because you will get a chance to win your very own free strainer bag!

image

I don’t have a problem with dairy, although many of my friends and their children can’t have dairy for one reason or another. Coconut milk makes a great substitute for dairy milk, and a delicious addition to many recipes!

Unfortunately, most store-bought coconut milk has thickeners and stabilizers, including carrageenan* which is an inflammatory and generally not-nice ingredient. Avoid if possible! Also, organic coconut milk is expensive.

Fortunately, making coconut milk is really easy!

All you need is unsweetened shredded coconut, a blender, and a fine-mesh bag (I use a cotton jelly strainer bag).

image

I get my organic shredded coconut at The Common Crow for $2.99 a pound (bulk)

Measure 2 cups of coconut into the blender:

image

Add add four cups of warm filtered water.

image

Not boiling or very hot water, because you will destroy any enzymes in the coconut and it will get sour faster.

Let the coconut soak in the warm water for about ten minutes so that the oils will melt and separate from the fibrous shreds. Blend on high for a while until well blended. You want the coconut to achieve a fine texture.

image

Once it seems nice and blended, set a fine-mesh bag into a large measuring cup (2-4 cups), pour in some of the mixture, and squeeze out all the liquid.

image

One great benefit is that the byproduct leftover in the bag (the pulp) is actually coconut flour! You can dry it out (in a dehydrator or low-temp oven) and use in recipes that call for coconut flour! You may need to put it in a blender again after it’s dried to achieve a more homogenous texture.

image

Once your milk is all strained, pour it into glass jars and store in the fridge! 🙂

image

I use these cotton jelly strainer bags to make my coconut milk, herbal coffee, and a variety of other things. Because I would LOVE for you to be able to make these for yourself, I decided to run a give-away contest! I’m giving away a FREE pack of STRAINER BAGS!
image
All you have to do to enter is comment on this post, saying what you would like to use your strainer bag for! I would also love it if you shared my blog with your friends! Spread the health and happiness! 🙂
The contest will be over in two weeks from today – October 20th!
Good luck! 🙂
*Functional Medicine practitioner and acupuncturist Chris Kresser made this statement on the issue at the end of his article about carrageenan:
“…However, I do still think caution is warranted. If I had to rank additives, I’d say carrageenan is a bit more concerning than the other two additives we’ve discussed so far because of its association with gut issues. Remember, in cases involving modern ingredients, the burden of proof should be on manufacturers to prove that they’re safe, rather than on consumers to prove that they’re harmful. Because the evidence isn’t conclusive either way, I recommend avoiding carrageenan, especially if you have a history of digestive problems.”
7 thoughts on “Easy Homemade Coconut Milk AND a Giveaway!

  1. I would use the bag or almond milk or straining juice that I make to be sure it’s pulp free. This is a cool bag. It’s nice to know that there are other options other than cheese cloth.

  2. I would use it for almond milk and coconut milk. (instead of the old pillowcase I have used in the past) Good to know coconut milk is so easy to make!

Leave a Reply

